Godfather XXI

IMG_4691

Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in… I am constantly swearing off Forever 21. And just when I thought I was done with them forever, they go and stock something so cool that I just can’t help myself.

At the tender age of 25, every time I step foot into one of those enormous stores, I feel old. I feel REALLY old. I feel that the 14-year-old girl in the fitting room next door says something about who I am, something I don’t like. Which makes me wonder, who are they selling this sweatshirt to? If you are too young to remember the Gargoyles, I’m so sorry. They were kick-ass! They were dark, and morbid, and they were just for us kids. Plus, they exclusively wore edgy loin-cloths. But just like every other good thing that’s ever happened to me, they were cancelled. So who exactly is buying these sweatshirts? Is it possible that I’m not the only over-the-hill twenty-something who would risk the embarrassment?

The sweater is just one in a long line of things that baffle me about Forever 21. The Washington Post ran an article earlier this year about some shady business practices over at the tween mega-store. I was always pretty turned off by the biblical verses printed on the bottom on their bags. Buying thirteen-dollar kitchy t-shirts does not mean I want to reflect on the life and times of John the Baptist.

But, who am I kidding? When there is a cheap “Gargoyles” sweatshirt to be bought, I’ll be there. I just can’t escape the self-loathing when I step up to the register and the girl behind me is still trying to ply an extra baby-doll dress from her mom.

You guys, I’m too old for this shit…

IMG_4708

Billie wore it best.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 responses to “Godfather XXI

    • Hi Ari,
      Thanks for commenting! Unfortunately I can’t find it anywhere online. I get the feeling that they sold out. They were also really scarce in my store. I got the last large, there were no mediums, and 2 smalls left. BUT if you like this one, you may also like

Leave a Reply

