Pictures of Pictures of Pictures.

As promised, I’m following up on our day at LACMA. I have to admit, one of the many things that surprised me about living in Los Angeles is the never ending supply of art. My eyes are in a constant state of bliss. A Miami native, I am guilty of judging other cities too quickly. When I moved here, I expected the same situation I was in back home; Art was in short supply unless Art Basel was going on, or you were spending time in the beautiful but very pricey (and off-puttingly trendy) Wynwood district. After switching coasts, I find myself a bit ashamed of how few cultural power-houses I had to boast of back home.

So, as you can imagine, the LACMA was a sight for sore-eyes. Comprised of multiple buildings, organized by genre/type, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art is reminiscent of a University. The complex is vast, but far from empty. The following pictures offer only a taste of what there is see.

IMG_4034

 

 

IMG_4068

IMG_4074

IMG_4081

IMG_4084

IMG_4089You, guys… That’s a big ass comb.

IMG_4090I had never seen an original Andy Warhol in person, so that was pretty neat.

IMG_4094

IMG_4096This man is never impressed.

IMG_4098

After wandering the sprawling modern art displays we walked out on to the terrace where we found a pretty cool, spaghetti-like jungle gym. Inside, we met a man who asked us if we had LSD. I thought that was strange but also kind of perfect.

IMG_4102

IMG_4101

IMG_4105

IMG_4104

IMG_4103

Next up… MOAR ARTS!!

IMG_4109

IMG_4110

IMG_4113

IMG_4114

This guy is my favorite thing in the entire world.

IMG_4115

Inside the Children’s room we were encouraged to add to the layers of visitor-made art on the walls. I was seated between 2 grown men and 2 5 year old girls… no one thought I was very cool. But I didn’t care! I made a picture of a pie!

IMG_4116

IMG_4118

If you don’t think that’s the hottest dog you’ve ever seen, then please e-mail and let me know where I can find more attractive meat-products. Physical beauty is something really important to me when shopping for processed meats.

IMG_4120

This piece is called “self portrait of the artist at age 25” by Michael Reinaldo Costa.

IMG_4126

IMG_4129

It was a good day.

5 responses to “Pictures of Pictures of Pictures.

  1. I relocated to LA from the East Coast and love it. The cultural diversity is incredible. Who can resist the Farmers Market? Great pics by the way.

    • Thank you! I have been really amazed by how diverse Los Angeles is, considering I moved from another huge city. It’s been a really wonderful surprise (so has the awesome weather).

Leave a Reply

